“Super Speeders” Have to Pay Additional Fines When Cited in Georgia
Somewhat unique to Georgia state law is the concept of a “Super Speeder.” The state defines these as any motorists cited for traveling at speeds of 75 miles per hour or more on a two-lane road or highway or 85 miles per hour or more on other highways. Those who receive Super Speeder citations must pay a $200 fine. If they do not pay their fine on time, they will also need to provide a $50 license reinstatement fee.
It’s worth noting that Georgia is among the strictest states in the nation when it comes to speeding and other traffic violations. As such, it’s common for the officers who issue citations to attend the court dates listed on their tickets. To that end, cited drivers should be prepared to make a clear argument if they plan on challenging their tickets in court.
If you plan to accept the fine, be sure to send it in at least two weeks before the court date listed. This will ensure that the state has plenty of time to process your payment and will help you avoid any issues with late payments, which could lead to a license suspension.
What if you live out of state?
Drivers who live outside Georgia have the same requirements placed on them as state residents. A failure to pay the Super Speeder fine will mean you can no longer legally drive in Georgia. The Department of Driver Services may also contact your state’s motor vehicle department. Thus, it’s possible that your own state license could be in jeopardy, even if the violation occurred elsewhere.
If you would like to learn more about fighting a Super Speeder ticket or any other traffic violation in Georgia, call the Law Offices of Melvin S. Nash at 770.422.0878 or contact us online today.