What Are the Penalties for DUI in Georgia?
In Georgia, like most other states, a conviction of driving under the influence may come with serious penalties. You may lose your driving privileges, leaving you unable to go to work, attend school or meet your other daily obligations. You may also need to pay large fines or spend time in jail, especially if you’ve been convicted of DUI more than once.
It’s also important to note that the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for those over the age of 21 is .08 percent. Anyone under 21 may face DUI charges with a BAC of .02 percent or above. The limit for commercial drivers is .04 percent.
Below are the standard penalties for drunk driving per Georgia state law:
- First offense: Up to a one-year license suspension, fines of between $300 and $1,000, and jail time of 24 hours to one year
- Second offense: A license suspension of three years, fines of $600 to $1,000, and up to one year in jail; ignition interlock device (IID) possible
- Third offense: A license suspension of five years, fines of between $1,000 and $5,000, and up to one year in jail; IID required
- Fourth offense: An indefinite license suspension, up to $5,000 in fines and up to five years in jail
Considering the serious consequences you could face when arrested for suspicion of drunk driving, it’s critically important to work with an attorney to develop a strategy that protects your rights and gives you the best chance at success. Call the Law Offices of Melvin S. Nash at 770.422.0878 or contact us online to get started.